Book Review For Dash And Lily’s Book Of Dares By: Rachel Cohn & David Leviathan

This book review is for Dash And Lily’s Book Of Dares By: Rachel Cohn & David Leviathan.

About this book —>    “I’ve left some clues for you.  If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

16-year-old Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on her favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. Dash, in a bad mood during the holidays, happens to be the first guy to pick up the notebook and rise to its challenges.

What follows is a whirlwind romance as Dash and Lily trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations all across New York City. But can their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions, or will their scavenger hunt end in a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

First off let me just talk about this beautiful cover first! I absolutely love this cover!  I had a bit of fun with modeling it.  The bright cover not only makes me happy, but makes me feel warm, and had me ready for the holidays.  With my obsession of the cover, lets get to all the warmth and fuzzy’s that were inside this book!  But first lets meet our lovely characters.

lilyredhipster-glasses

Meet Lily.  Your quirky, four eyed, captain of the soccer team, dog walker, and Christmas spirit girl.

tumblr_n8s4bkd6n41r4ueyro1_250quotesyogurt

Meet Dash.  Your hipster, snarly, smart, witty, obsessed with eating yogurt, love of quotes, book collector, charming blue eyed boy.

tumblr_o14lftvozc1tzv1dpo1_500

To think it had all started with finding that red Moleskine notebook placed upon the shelf of a bookstore.  Curiosity had gotten the best of Dash so little did he know by taking a peek inside its pages an adventure of self discovery, love, and friendship would soon whisk him away to meet Lily.

notebook

As Dash and Lily play with danger and courageously agree to each others dares, whisking them all over New York City.  You’ll find that on their adventures you not only learn a bit about them, but you’ll fall in love with them even more.

manhattan-new-york-1

This was not only a fun holiday read, but also a charming fairy tale set at its own pace and the paint to the picture of our first kiss, our hopes, our dreams, and allowing love to unfold with you yourself making that first step happen.  I loved this book!  It had kept me up, glued, and eager to find out where Dash and Lily’s adventures would lead to next.  I loved this book so much and the messages it sent you through the red moleskine notebook, it had made me want go out and purchase my own red notebook and go about my own dares.  Want to! But haven’t.  Not yet at least!  The openness that these two share throughout the notebook breaks your heart at times, but you get to feel what they were feeling, needing a friend, someone to talk too, and building something the heart knew was tender but warm.  dash_and_lilys_book_of_dares_by_kat5433-d5k9gr2

Favorite quotes…

  • “You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtships. They want to know immediately.”
  • “The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”
  • “I was attempting to write the story of my life. It wasn’t so much about plot. It was much more about character.”
  • “You want meaning? Well, the meanings are out there. We’re just so damn good at reading them wrong.”
  • “I mean, what if love isn’t a yes-or-no question? It’s not either you’re in love or you’re not. I mean, aren’t there different levels? And maybe these things, like words and expectations and whatever, don’t go on top of the love. Maybe it’s like a map, and they all have their own place, and then when you see it from the sky – whoa.”
  • “I mean, like most guys, you carry around this girl in your head, who is exactly who you want her to be. The person you think you will love the most. And every girl you are with gets measured against this girl in your head.”
  • “There are just lots of possibilities in the world…I need to keep my mind open for what could happen and not decide that the world is hopeless if what I want to happen doesn’t happen. Because something else great might happen in between.”
  • “I’m told there’s no going back. So I’m choosing forward.”
  • “You have to trust the words. They do not create anything more than themselves.”
  • “In a field, I am the absence of field. In a crowd, I am the absence of crowd. In a dream, I am the absence of dream. But I don’t want to live as an absence. I move to keep things whole. Because sometimes I feel drunk on positivity. Sometimes I feel amazement at the tangle of words and lives, and I want to be a part of that tangle. “Game over,” you say, and I don’t know which I take more exception to- the fact that you say that it’s over, or the fact that you say it’s a game. It’s only over when one of us keeps the notebook for good. It’s only a game if there is an absence of meaning. And we’ve already gone too far for that.”
  • “We are reading the story of our lives. As though we were in it, As though we had written it.”

love_coffee

Everything about this book lured me in, from the cover, to Dash’s snarlyness, and Lily’s unremarkable hope this book had me smiling and laughing.  If you want a cute, fun, quirky, holiday romance, and a  young adult read this book is for you!!  I gave this book five stars!!  I’m still smiling from the ending it was that perfect!

Read this book! If you dare?

                           Go on I dare you. 

Note- All pics and gifs used in this blog post belong to their rightful owners/creators

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

